Joyce Hwang named to Journal of Architectural Education editorial board

Joyce Hwang pictured with other members of the JAE editorial board.

Joyce Hwang's appointment to the JAE editorial board puts UB in the center of the leading venue for research and commentary on architectural education. Hwang, center, is pictured here with fellow board members Neeraj Bhatia (left) and Ijlal Muzaffar (right). Photo courtesy of the Journal of Architectural Education.

Published October 12, 2018

Architecture professor Joyce Hwang will play a lead role within the primary venue for research and commentary on architectural education as a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Architectural Education.

Hwang, associate professor and associate chair of architecture at UB, will serve as part of the journal's 2018-2021 term along with newly appointed members Jana Cephas of Northeastern University, Ijlal Muzaffar of Rhode Island School of Design, David Theodore of McGill University and Neeraj Bhatia of California College of the Arts.

The Journal of Architectural Education (JAE) is a biannual peer-reviewed academic journal published by Routledge on behalf of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. Founded in 1947, it is the oldest continuing operating journal of its kind.

As a board member, Hwang will review submissions, participate in editorial board meetings, and contribute to the production and vision of the journal.

Joyce Hwang, AIA, NCARB, is the director of Ants of the Prairie, an office of architectural practice and research that focuses on confronting contemporary ecological conditions through creative means. Hwang is a registered architect in New York State and has practiced professionally with offices in New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and Barcelona. She is the recipient of the 2014 Emerging Architects Award from the Architectural League of New York State. 

Additional JAE editorial board membership: Marc J. Neveu (executive editor), Arizona State University; Carolina Dayer (associate editor), Aarhus School of Architecture; Ivan Rupnik (associate editor), Northeastern University; Peggy Deamer, Yale University; Sarah Deyong, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Elizabeth Golden, University of Washington; Jane Hutton, University of Waterloo; Timothy Hyde, MIT; Clare Lyster, University of Illinois at Chicago; Jacob Mans, University of Minnesota; Igor Marjanovic, Washington University in St. Louis; Alpa Nawre, University of Florida; Sara Stevens, University of British Columbia; Georgeen Theodore, New Jersey Institute of Technology; Neyran Turan, University of California, Berkeley.