Eberhard Research Fellowship

Dean Eberhard sitting at his desk during the early days of the School of Architecture and Planning.

John Eberhard (1927-2020), the founding dean of the School of Architecture and Planning, was a critical and creative scholar, educator, and leader. Trained at MIT and later employed at the National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council, Carnegie Mellon University, Johns Hopkins University, and American Institute of Architects, among others, Eberhard held a deep interest in design thinking, interdisciplinary collaboration, design innovation, and applied, cutting-edge research. With the generous support of Peter Hourihan, former principal at CannonDesign and a member of the first cohort of architecture students at UB, the Eberhard Research Fellowship extends Eberhard’s ethos and legacy. Each year, the fellowship is awarded to an exceptional, incoming M.Arch student motivated to carry out significant and impactful architectural research (through a master’s thesis and allied coursework).

2024-25 Eberhard Research Fellow: Katarina Voss M.Arch '25

Katarina Voss standing in a field with the sun setting behind her on a cloudy day.

Previous recipients

  • Peter Fillion - M.Arch ‘24
  • Julia Wade - M.Arch ‘23