NAAB Accreditation

National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB) Statement on Accreditation

NAAB logo.

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University at Buffalo School of Architecture and Planning offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

The next accreditation visit for all programs is 2024.


UB Architecture Accreditation Information

The following are links to current NAAB Conditions and Procedures (2020), in addition to NAAB Conditions (2009) and Procedures (2012) used in UB’s last visit in 2015.

Architecture program receives full accreditation through 2023

Noted in particular were three NAAB criteria that the School of Architecture and Planning has met “with distinction”: comprehensive design; applied research skills; and collaboration, both among students, between students and faculty, and across the disciplines at UB.