Commencement 2017

Congratulations, Class of 2017

Commencement 2017 - graduates in the atrium of the Center for the Arts toss their caps in to the air in celebration.

Graduates toss their caps into the air following the school's Commencement ceremony on May 19, 2017, in UB's Center for the Arts. Photo by Dylan Buyskes, Onion Studio

Please enjoy these memories of a milestone moment for our graduates. 

On this page:

Watch the ceremony

Part 1: Processional, Welcomes, Address

Diane Georgopulos (BA '73) retired director of housing and construction for MassHousing, the nation's largest affordable housing finance agency, addressed graduates after receiving the 2017 Dean's Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the school. Diane has also served on the school's Dean's Council since its founding in 2013.

Dean Robert Shibley also presented pothumous Dean's Medals to two beloved friends of the school and leaders in the profession - Theodore Lownie, a faculty member with the school for more than three decades and founding principal of Hamilton Houston Lownie Architects in Buffalo; and Mark Mendell, retired president and co-chairman of CannonDesign and a charter member of the school's Dean's Council. Read more

Part 2: Degree Conferral, Awards

Awards and Honors

Students who demonstrated the highest levels of achievement and innovation in their studies were recognized during the ceremony. Awards were presented by academic leadership in the School of Architecture and Planning and professional organizations in the region.

Ryan Alexander Sousa Pereira (BAED) Academic Excellence Award
Julia Mary Hunt (BS Arch) Academic Excellence Award 
William Joseph Baptiste (BS Arch) Alpha Rho Chi Medal
Xiaojie (Sophia) Cao (BS Arch) Alpha Rho Chi Medal
Enjoli Dominique Hall (MUP) Academic Excellence Award, Best Final Project Award, AICP Planning Excellence Award
Ramanditya Wimbardana Wimbadi (MUP) Best Thesis Award 
Salwa Mohammad Suleiman Alawneh (MArch) Chair's Award
David Mitchell Heaton (MArch) ARCC/King Student Medal for Excellence in Architectural + Environmental Research, AIA Henry Adams Gold Medal
Iryna Goroshko (MArch) AIA Henry Adams Gold Medal
Rachael Goff (BS Arch) R. Buckminster Fuller Award
Michael Edward Tuzzo (MArch/MUP) Dean's Certificate
Randy Fernando (MArch) Fred Wallace Brunkow Fellowship

We are also pleased to announce that Professor Annette LeCuyer received the Gary Day Award from the Architecture Graduate Student Association. Samina Raja, associate professor of urban planning, received the Graduate Planning Student Association Outstanding Faculty Award.

Photo Gallery