Commencement 2022

On May 20, 2022, the School of Architecture and Planning graduated its 50th and largest class ever. Photos by Onion Studio.

On May 20, 2022, the School of Architecture and Planning graduated its 50th and largest class ever. Photos by Onion Studio

On May 20, 2022, more than 200 graduates crossed the stage as the 50th and largest ever graduating class of the School of Architecture and Planning. Graduates and their families and friends, along with distinguished guests, joined together at UB's Center for the Arts as UB held its first fully in-person commencement season since the start of the pandemic. 

Watch the ceremony livestream

View program

An accessible PDF of the commencement program, including a listing of all graduates in the Class of 2022, is available here.

Highlights from our program

Among the ceremony's distinguished guests were UB Provost A. Scott Weber, who served as degree conferrer, Dean Robert G. Shibley, who presided as master of ceremonies, members of UB and SUNY leadership, partners in the professions, faculty of the School of Architecture and Planning, and members of the School's Dean's Council. Charles L. Davis II, UB associate professor of architectural history, presented the keynote address and was presented with the Dean's Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the School. 

A moment of great possibility

Today, you step into a moment of great possibility for our professions and our world. As architects, planners, and developers, you will shape solutions on the world’s greatest problems – from the warming planet to housing affordability to equitable access to healthy food. You will work at the intersection of cultural production, economic opportunity, social and racial justice, environmental sustainability, technological innovation, and public health. You will lead the way into this ocean of opportunity. What a responsibility. What a privilege.

- Dean Robert G. Shibley, SUNY Distinguished Professor, in his remarks to graduates

Photo gallery

Photos by Onion Studio

Keynote address

Charles L. Davis, II, addressing graduates of the School of Architecture and Planning on May 20, 2022.

On the eve of today’s graduation ceremony, I learned, yet again, to commingle my childhood love of Buffalo and its architecture with the inequalities that expose its most vulnerable citizens to greater patterns of hate and violence. It is at this moment—both as a graduate and as a member of the Buffalo community—that I ask you to think about the ethical dimensions that are associated with your new knowledge of the built environment.

- Charles L. Davis II, PhD, addressing members of the Class of 2022

In his address to graduates, Charles Davis II, UB associate professor of architectural history and a leading scholar on race and architecture, reflected on his formative experiences growing up on Buffalo's East Side and attending UB's architecture program, where he learned to combine his training in design and placemaking with an understanding of the racial divisions that mark the urban landscape. 

Davis was also honored with the 2022 Dean’s Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the School of Architecture and Planning, in recognition of his exemplary contributions to the study and practice of the disciplines and to the betterment of our world. 

In this moment of a new racial reckoning for our country - and, now, our city after the tragic racially motivated mass shooting in Buffalo on May 14, 2022 - Davis reveals just how far racism extends in the history and contemporary culture of our disciplines and across our communities, and the potential for future architects to shape a more equitable, just environment for all.


Department of Architecture

Alpha Rho Chi Medal: Anh Shavindya Seneviratne Do (MArch '22)

ARCC/King Student Medal for Excellence in Architectural and Environmental Research: Nicholas Eichelberger (MArch '22)

AIA Medal for Academic Excellence: Nicole Sarmiento (MArch '22) 

Department of Urban and Regional Planning

MUP Best Professional Project Award: Emma Cook (MUP '22)

MUP Best Thesis Award: Jacob Kotler (MUP '22)

AICP Planning Excellence Award: Nathaniel Mich (MUP '22)

Gary Day Award, presented each year by the students in the Department of Architecture to an outstanding professor: Daniel Vrana, UB clinical assistant professor of architecture, manager of the Fabrication Workshop

Graduate Planning Student Association Outstanding Faculty Award: Emmanuel Frimpong Boamah, UB associate professor of urban planning


Any questions about commencement can be directed to or (716) 829-5905